Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

I’m a Motley Mutt! April 18, 2011

Filed under: BJ,Lily,Mom,my world — Lily @ 1:08 pm

Yesterday was a long day. A very long, long day. It started at noon, when Mom, BJ and I got to Aunt Linda’s, where I found out I was there under false pretenses: I wasn’t there to play with Doogie, I was there to get a haircut while BJ got to play outside. Aunt Linda kept Doogie and Maggie in the house so BJ could just relax outside for awhile. Mom and Aunt Linda said it would only be for an hour or so. HA! WOOF!! An hour and a half after starting my haircut, Mom and Aunt Linda had only clipped my face, the ridge of my back and one leg! They gave up and Aunt Linda started going through the phone book. No one was open. Of course not, it was Sunday! Then Mom had an idea and called Motley Mutts (http://www.motleymuttsdogwashvb.com/) and the nice man who answered said sure, they would fix what Mom and Aunt Linda started if they could get me there by 2pm. Mom said “Yikes! We’re on our way!”, grabbed me and off we flew. I’m not saying Mom broke any traffic laws getting us there on time but a couple of traffic lights gave us the benefit of the doubt! ARF!!! The nice mans was Adam, the owner, and “they” turned out to be Melissa! BOL

We got there and Melissa said she’d take care of me and we must have been some kind of good luck charm because as soon as she said she could help us, three dogs came in to use their self-serve bathing tubs! So while she helped them, Mom and Aunt Linda and I made friends with Blue, Adam’s Irish Wolfhound PUPPY! This guy isn’t even a year old and he’s as tall as BJ!!

Then things settled down and Melissa put me on the grooming table and the fun began. She was very nice and very gentle and I liked her even tho I wouldn’t give her a kiss when we got done!

Mom and Aunt Linda left me with Melissa and I don’t know where they went but they did come back for me! It’s nice to know I’m not going to be abandoned like some of the puppies I hear about.

But we did abandon enough fur to knit another dog! Mom was joking that the fur on my feet was growing as fast as Melissa could clip it! BOL

I was too scared of the blower dryer thing so they decided to just let me air dry, which I did in the car on the way back to Aunt Linda’s to get BJ. All in all, my grooming took just over four and a half hours!! And through it all, I was a good girl, and Melissa was so patient and easy with me, I’m hoping Mom takes me back there sometime!

And Mr. Johnny, Aunt Linda’s husband, said that except for the whining, BJ was a good boy. I’m glad Mom brought BJ along– seven hours alone in the house would have been too much for him. At least this way, hang with Mr. Johnny and enjoy being outside. BJ’s crazy like that– he thinks it’s okay to be outside. ARF!! Silly BJ! WOOF!!

 

10 Responses to “I’m a Motley Mutt!”

  1. Rosalie Says:

    What a day , Lily!!
    Lots of hair, more than mone!!!

    • Lily Says:

      Thanks! Mom thought about saving my hair ans selling it but it’s not long enough to do anything profitable with. BOL

  2. gothiccharms Says:

    BOL! I’m sure you will feel better with that new hair cut!

  3. melanie Says:

    Hi, Lily…

    Locksley and I just returned from an after school program for the kids at Phillips school.
    Boy.. itwas hot in their cafeteria where the program was held. n
    You look so great in your new hair dooo !. Infact.. Mom said she probaly will contact Motley Mutts to get Locksley a combing …
    Mom needs to know where MM is located.
    Again, you look great Lily..

    Molly Paul

    • Lily Says:

      Thanks, Miss Melanie– I like my short hair! 🙂 Mom said Motley Mutts is in a shopping center on Birdneck Road in Virginia Beach.

  4. asta Says:

    Lily
    That tuwned out to be a pwetty gweat day , meeting fwiends , and getting made mowe bootiful.
    I would nevew call you a Motley Mutt though
    smoochie kisses
    ASTA

  5. Khyra Says:

    I bet woo are SOOOOOO much speedier!!!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra


Leave a Reply

