Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

Where’d the time go? June 14, 2010

Filed under: BJ,Mom,my world — Lily @ 1:24 am

I just realized I haven’t posted anything in four months! I’m sorry, but a lot has happened in that four months– a lot of nothing! šŸ™‚ I’m kidding. We’ve had a lot of set backs here– Mom’s car broke down, BOTH computers died, we got BJ, Mom tried to fillet her pinkie, I went to school again, Mom got her car back, we got BJ, Mom got her computers back. Did I mention BJ? No? Well, I should! BJ’s my new big brother and Mom’s new service dog. He’s a four year old fawn Great Dane and he’s cool. He’s not Buddy, but he likes me so I’ll let him stay. I say that because he does have “issues” with other dogs but it’s looking more like a jealousy issue than an aggression issue. Like he’ll bark his fool head off in the car when we go down the road and we see another dog. But if we’re in the car while Mom runs inside real quick and he sees another dog he just watches it but doesn’t bark. Mom’s taking him to special socialization classes at the same school I went to and it seems to be doing him some good. And he’s taking his tests to be a therapy dog! So far, he’s doing real well there.

Here’s the first picture we saw of him, back on April 9th:

They called him James Maximus.

Here’s the picture Mom took of him when she went to meet him on April 11:

He smiles a lot!

I met him that day too but Mom didn’t get a picture of us together for a couple of days– she was busy running him around to the vets and stuff, getting him all his shots, and letting him know that when they went somewhere, he’d always come back here, to my house. He rides very well in the car– likes to lie and look out the windows.

For the first few days, I wouldn’t let him on my futon, but then I decided he was okay and we could share. Sort of. If I’m on there first, he either stays off or gets the space I leave him– Mom thinks it’s so cute the way I can suddenly make myself twice as big as I really am!

Sometimes I don't want to share the futon.


And sometimes I'll share like a good girl! šŸ™‚

And sometimes, BJ just likes to sit and watch the world go by:

He sits in the chair next to Mom at the doctor's office too! Wish I could see that!!!

Mom’s very impressed with him. He walks really well on a leash, doesn’t pull at all. Comes when he’s called (silly puppy!), and even does those “sit” and “down” and “stay” things that I haven’t quite mastered yet. (Mom says I will, it’ll just take time.) He’s 34.5″ tall at the shoulder so he’s tall enough to see what’s in the pans on the stove but he never touches anything on the stove or the counters or even off Mom’s plate when she’s sitting in her chair eating in front of the TV. She says he sniffs the calories out for her tho! šŸ™‚

He does have a bit of separation anxiety tho. If Mom and I go somewhere in the car without him, he cries and howls until we get back. But if I stay home with him when Mom goes off by herself, he’s fine. And I like it when they go off and leave me here by myself– that’s when I can nap on Mom’s bed! (Oh– don’t tell her I said that, okay?)

Oh– his name. BJ. I guess you’re wondering where that came from. Well, his old mom and dad named him James Maximus. That didn’t quite cut it with us. Little Buddy’s Mom thought we should call him Buddy Junior. We liked the sound of BJ but not so much the Junior part. So, in memory of Buddy, and to honor the name his ex-parents gave him, we decided on Buddy James. BJ. šŸ™‚

And how am I doing? I’m doing okay. I do come when called in the house now ’cause I’ve learned it usually means a treat’s involved and if I don’t get there quick enough, I don’t get it. Mom doesn’t give my treats to BJ– she just says, “You don’t come, you don’t get the treat.” So now, when she says “Come!” I do!

I still prefer inside to outside and I still like eating my dinner after everyone else has gone to bed. Mom puts my dinner out the same time she puts BJ’s out but I won’t eat it until later. And neither does BJ– he leaves my bowls totally alone. Mom only had to tell him once to leave them alone and he’s left them alone ever since. He’s sure a smart one! I’m glad we brought him home that day. I’m sorry he had to leave his first mom and dad (they were moving and couldn’t take him with them) but I’m sure glad they let us have him. I think he’s happy here. šŸ™‚

 

10 Responses to “Where’d the time go?”

  1. Khyra Says:

    How nice to see woo again!

    Thanks for introducing us to BJ!

    We hope he khontinues to be happy with woo!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  2. BJ, seems very nice. So glad he gets along with you. It is very nice of you to share the futon with him occasionally. And it is really good he doesn’t eat your foods.

    • Lily Says:

      We think he’s pretty nice too!

      And we think your blog is cute too! Mom just loves Fenris’s blue eyes!

  3. Mark Hoggard Says:

    What a good big brother!

    • Lily Says:

      Thanks, Mark! Even tho he’s about to pass his Therapy Dogs Incorporated test, he won’t be ready for schools or libraries for awhile– too much going on! He needs calm so Mom’ll just take him to nursing homes until he gets used to things going on around him. He’s also such a klutz we’re afraid he might accidentally bowl over a small human in his excitement! He’s bowled me over a couple of times with those gangly legs and big feet of his!

  4. BJ looks like a very smart and friendly dog! I think you are very lucky with him.

    • Lily Says:

      BJ’s mom here: Yes, he is! He loves being wherever I am and going wherever I go. He passed his therapy dog test and I can’t wait to get his ID card, etc, so I can take him to the nursing homes. He really seemed to enjoy all the attention he got when we went to the nursing homes for his testing and I’m really looking forward to taking this Gentle Ambassador out and about. šŸ™‚

      BTW– checked out your blog: very nice!

      Lily here: Ya, he’s okay for a big klutz! BOL I think I’ll let Mom keep him! šŸ™‚

  5. Robin Says:

    A great tribute to our sweetheart Buddy šŸ™‚ Hankies needed and in hand just as you advised.
    It was good to see you the other day and meet BJ. He’s going to be a wonderful addition to the pet therapy family and an inspiration to us all. Hugs and treats to Lily and BJ! I look forward to seeing you soon šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

