Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

I’m an only child… October 17, 2009

Filed under: Colin,Lily,Mom — Lily @ 12:14 am

Mom here:
I’m sorry but I had to take Colin back to the shelter Thursday afternoon. Last week he knocked me down twice, bit the instructor, bit me, and corrective training only made him worse. Wednesday night, he went after the neighbor’s dog and tossed it across the yard, knocked me down and tried to bite the back of my neck, and then went after Lily. I’m sorry. Enough is enough. He had to stay in his crate just about 24/7 because of the bad behavior while out of it. He flipped me and my chair over a couple of times. The ringing phone sends him into a fighting frenzy. He tries to get at every smaller dog he sees. I can’t trust him. And if he’s to be a service dog, or a therapy dog, I have to be able to trust him 150%. I feel bad for him, but not guilty about taking him back to the shelter. I had him for a month and things were just getting worse instead of better.

But there is good news. I took Lily to class yesterday morning, told the instructors what was going on, and since Colin only had one of the seven sessions, Lily gets to take his place in class. Let me tell you– she was awesome! She had to be shown what “sit” and “down” meant but once she got the idea, she did it! And stay! She actually stayed!! After the “leave it” drill, she wouldn’t take that treat for love nor money!! And on the 40′ recall?? She actually ran right to me (with some coaxing, of course) but she did it! A couple of the other dogs took the scenic route but she went as straight as an arrow! After class is play time where we let the dogs just be dogs and while she didn’t actually play, she did wander around. And when things got too rowdy for her, she went and stood by one of the bigger dogs, even responding to a puppy bow a couple of times! She was awesome!

Lily here:
I don’t know why Mom’s so excited about me coming to her. Of course I’m going to go to her when she calls me– especially when she’s waving a piece of cheese at me like the checkered flag at a NASCAR race! I’d come to her when she calls me when we’re outside too but not yet– there’s still too many things out there for me to discover! BOL

As for Colin… I miss not having another of my kind here but Mom keeps saying she’s going to find the right dog for us this time. She keeps saying a Great Dane. I know what “Great” means– it means “Good!”, but I don’t know what “Dane” means. I hope it’s something good too. (Oh wait– I know what a Great Dane is– it’s a horse in dogs clothing! Doogie and Gretchen are Great Danes and they’re okay. Big but okay. So I guess in this case “Great” means “big”.) But he did scare me the other night, and I have enough things I need to learn to be not afraid of without having to be afraid of my own brother. I’m glad Mom won’t tolerate “sibling abuse”. He’s basically a good dog, just really messed up. I hope he finds the right home soon…

You’ll have to excuse me now… if I act real cute, I think I can wangle a woofer* from Mom before we go to bed!

*woofer: dried meat chip, looks like a very over-done grilled hamburger.

 

12 Responses to “I’m an only child…”

  1. Khyra Says:

    It means another sibling way will head your way at SOME point…

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  2. Lily Says:

    I hope so– I miss having someone to steal chewies from! BOL

  3. WE are so sorry things didn’t work out with Colin. It sounds as if he didn’t receive any training until you got him and Flock Guardians are very hard to handle anyway.

    Fenris is a Great Pyrenees Mix and he is a love but we got him when he was between 6 and 8 weeks old and have been “training” him from the beginning. Do you know he is scared silly of SOCKS (meowing out loud)? And Scylla knocked him down the other day that was funny they were both scared silly. See she didn’t realize Fenris was in the house and she was RUNNING full steam down the hall and he was trying to come in the kitchen were Mommy was and she crashed into him. Since he is suffering from growing pains he was only on three paws and she knocked him down. We are all still laughing about that.

    • Lily Says:

      Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply but we got “displaced” when a Nor’easter blew through here and flooded our home. Mom said she’s going to let me have computer time real soon to tell all about it and my adventures at obedience school. BOL

      Sounds like you have quite the adventurous household! I’m still not sure about cats: I’ve met two. One ignores me and one tried to tear me to shreds!

    • Lily Says:

      Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply but we got “displaced” when a Nor easter blew through here and flooded our home. Mom said she’s going to let me have computer time real soon to tell all about it and my adventures at obedience school. BOL

      Sounds like you have quite the adventurous household! I’m still not sure about cats: I’ve met two. One ignores me and one tried to tear me to shreds!

  4. Happy Says:

    Sorry to hear it didn’t work out with Colin. I’m sure you’re going to enjoy having another sibling, Lily!

    • Lily Says:

      Right now Mom and I have to put our search for my new brother on hold. We’re temporarily homeless (not really- we’re staying in a motel) and that’s not the best way to bond with a new dog. I’m sorry it didn’t work either but when Colin started attacking any and every dog he saw– including me– Mom decided to do what was best for all of us.

    • Lily Says:

      Right now Mom and I have to put our search for my new brother on hold. We re temporarily homeless (not really- we’re staying in a motel) and that’s not the best way to bond with a new dog. I’m sorry it didn’t work either but when Colin started attacking any and every dog he saw– including me– Mom decided to do what was best for all of us.

  5. I understand your sadness, but don’t worry, I am sure you will very soon get another mate to play with!

    • Lily Says:

      I hope so! Mom’s okay, but I miss having another four-legged around, if you know what I mean! BOL And I worry about Mom– she has to be so careful with her disabilities that she doesn’t fall down. I can’t help her up and I don’t know how to go get help for her. Buddy was very good at it al– he really spoiled both of us! 🙂

  6. Happy Says:

    Sorry to hear about your home. Hope there isn’t much damage done. How long would you have to stay put in a motel?

    • Lily Says:

      Our room is paid for until the 10th but Mom thinks we’ll be in here at least another two weeks, counting what’s left of this one. Sigh….


Leave a Reply

