Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

Buddy’s doing okay but… August 1, 2009

Filed under: Buddy,Lily — Lily @ 11:44 pm

Lily here. I think he gets tired more quickly. We go out and he’s the one wanting to come back in first instead of me. Mom talked to the vet today and got permission to increase one of the pain meds he’s on as well as the icky stuff he takes for his arthritis. (And it is icky– smells like dead ferrets. No offense to any live ferrets who might be reading this.) But I don’t mind him taking more meds– it means more pieces of cheese for me too! Woof!

 

10 Responses to “Buddy’s doing okay but…”

  1. Buddy we are purring for you.

    Lily, you are a young thing so you has lots of energy like our Fenris.

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thanks, everybody. I appreciate all the purring.

      And yes, Lily has lots of energy! She’s almost worn the grass away from where she runs her laps! I keep telling her she’s running backwards, that she needs to run counter-clockwise like they do in NASCAR but she just gives me a funny look and races past going the other way! Sometimes I’ll lie down in the middle of her track to see if she’ll go around me but she doesn’t. She just jumps over me and keeps going. BOL

  2. River Says:

    We hope that the meds help Buddy feel better so he can enjoy being outside. Take good care of him. We are thinking about you today.

    love & wags,
    River

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Buddy’s mom here: Thanks, River. I do try to keep him medicated so he’s comfortable without being loopy but it’s a fine line. And all the hot humid weather we’re having isn’t helping because neither of us do well in hot humid weather! Doesn’t seem to bother Lily tho! She runs and runs and runs until I say it’s time to come back inside and then she does another couple of laps INSIDE the house before finding a comfy spot to lie down.

      They are so different but I love them just the same. 🙂

  3. Khyra Says:

    Hmmmmm….

    Dead ferrets?

    Might be interesting!

    Hugz&Khysses fur woo and Buddy!

    Khyra

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Buddy here. Dead ferrets are not interesting!! They stink worse than skunks. (No offense to any skunks out there.) Besides, I don’t think it smells like dea ferrets, I think it smells like rotten eggs. BOL

  4. Cherry Garris Says:

    Hi Buddy,

    I think about you so very often. I’m glad to know you’re able to get out and about. I trust your Mom to give you just enough meds to help make you more comfortable. She’s one of a kind!….AND SO ARE YOU!! You truly have been a blessing in my life….I love you so much.

    Aunt Cherry

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Lily here– Buddy says thanks. He’d tell you himself only the hard drive on Mom’s computer crashed and we’re house and dog sitting out in Chespaeake and Buddy can’t climb the stairs to the computer room so I said I’d do it for him. I don’t know what Mom’s gonna do for a computer after we go home on Sunday. I’m sure she’ll think of something. arf!

  5. belle Says:

    Hi buddy,

    I am sorry to hear about your arthritis. Hope you get well soon and find meds that would really make you feel better. I know you can’t wait to go outside and play, and eat more food you want. 🙂
    For some Facebook fun tied to a feel-good cause to help dogs, check out Save a Dog: http://apps.facebook.com/save-a-dog/

    Thanks for the support. More power!


Leave a Reply

