Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

I have cancer. July 20, 2009

Filed under: Buddy,Lily,Mom,our world — Lily @ 9:33 am

Osteosarcoma, to be exact. Bone cancer. We found out about a month ago, had the biopsy done on the 6th, and got the bad news confirmed on the 9th. Mom didn’t take it too well when she first heard that word. Osteosarcoma. It’s in my left proximal humerus, that’s forearm for you humans, just below the shoulder joint.

At first, the consensus was take the leg, take away the pain. Wrong. The cancer has spread to other parts of my body so taking the leg would not take away the pain. I talked to my friend Chris (the animal communicator) and I told her to tell Mom I know I’m dying, I can feel the cancer, but I’m not ready to go yet. I want to help teach Lily a few more things first. And I also want Mom to be in a better state of mind when I do go. I already made her promise (via Chris) that when I’m gone, she’s to get another BIG dog. Lily needs a companion and Mom needs someone who can help her with her mobility issues. I can’t anymore and that’s more frustrating to me than anything else that’s going on.

****************************************************

Lily here: My big brother’s a trooper. I’m doing my best to take care of him. Here’s a picture of us resting together on my bed:

Quiet!  Buddy's sleeping!

Quiet! Buddy's sleeping!


I know I have a lot to learn, and only a short amount of time to do it, but I will do it. I’ve talked with Chris too and she says I can do it. Arf!

 

30 Responses to “I have cancer.”

  1. Fred Says:

    Oh, Buddy, my mom and I are so sorry to hear this news. We will keep you in our thoughts and prayers and hope you are pain-free and happy. You are very brave, and so is your mom!

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thanks, Fred. I’m taking a pain management “cocktail” and stay kinda loopy. BOL Mom and I are trying to stay brave for Lily– she’s so young and has much to learn. I think when she finally learns to trust Mom completely, that’s when I’ll go. 🙂

  2. River Says:

    Buddy, we are praying for you, for peace and no-pain until you cross the Bridge. I’m so sorry we only got to know you for a little while but, I promise, we will never forget you. You have done a lot of good in your life. Tell your mom that we are sending hugs and love.

    love & wags,
    River & mom

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thanks, River. And thanks for telling some of your pawls about me– I have gotten some very nice encouraging messages from them.

      I don’t know about no pain… but the pain management “cocktail” I’m on has me feeling a bit loopy! And it makes me sleep a lot. Maybe I should slip a dose to my mom– she could use the sleep! BOL

      • River Says:

        Hi Buddy,
        My mom says it makes a BIG difference when you have so many friends who understand the heart and soul pain of losing a best friend. I thought it would help you and your mom if we rallied the paw power of the DWB. We are all here whenever you need us.

        love & wags,
        River & mom (who is in WI right now)

      • Buddy & Lily Says:

        Thanks, River. You’re an awesome paw pal.

  3. Lorenza Says:

    Paws crossed for you Buddy!
    Kisses and hugs
    Lorenza

  4. rocky Says:

    w00fs, i am sooo sorry…i not no what to say…just no, we will b here to support u…enjoy every day u have left…my sis angel lacylulu will take care of him when he gits to the bridge..

    b safe,
    ~rocky~

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      I’ll make sure to say hi to lacylulu for you. Plus Mom’s old dog Flop will be there to show me around too.

  5. Opy Says:

    So sorry to hear this news Buddy – we send you all our love and pawsitive vibes to you and your family.

    Stay with us mate – we love you.

    Love

    Brooke, Greg, Charlie & Opy

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thanks, everybody. I’d love to stay for forever but I don’t think it’s gonna happen. Mom keeps telling me I’ll live for forever in her heart and in the hearts of our friends. 🙂

  6. Khyra Says:

    We are here to help!

    We are good at sharing ‘stuff’!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  7. Pedro Says:

    Buddy,

    I came over from River’s blog. I’m sorry to hear that you are so ill and wanted you to know that I’ll be thinking about you and your mom. You’re a very brave dawg, and very kind, worrying about your mom and Lily rather than yourself. It’s nice that you were able to get your messages to them through your communicator friend. I wish you pain free days with your family.

    Pedro

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thank you, Pedro. I’m glad to know there are so many out there who will help my mom when the time comes.

  8. We just came from River’s blog. We are so sorry to hear this news! You are in our thoughts and prayers.

    Love ya lots,
    Maggie and Mitch

  9. The OP Pack Says:

    River told us to come say hi. Hey Buddy, we like your attitude – hang in there, maybe it will be a long time before the really bad days. We have a cancer pup here too and we are hoping for some time too.

    Woos, the OP Pack

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thanks! Sorry to hear you have someone fighting this crappy disease too. I hope it’s a long time for the really bad days for you too.

  10. Stella Says:

    Hi Buddy: River sent me and I want to give you my very best wishes and prayers fot the very best outcome for you. Your attitude is great and soon your Mom will come around to accepting and making it easier for you.

    You sound like such a great dog, I wish that I knew you in person.

    Kisses,
    Stella

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thank you, Stella. Mom’s pretty much done with the anger and denial stages. Now she’s just concentrating on keeping me as comfortable as possible. We’re just gonna do this one day at a time. 🙂

  11. Asta Says:

    Buddy and Lilly
    I came fwom Wivew’s bloggie too.I’m having a hawd time getting mommi to wite this, she’s leaking all ovew. You awe so bwave and I’m so happy that you can communicate wif youw Mom and youw sissie.
    I pwy that youw pain is not too howwible and that you can comfowt youw Mom. I know you will be pain fwee and waiting fow them ovew the wainbow when the time comes, but it’a awfully hawd fow hoomans to have to say fawewell, even fow a while.
    I’m sending all of you my healing smoochie kisses
    love
    Asta and Mommi

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Thank you, Asta. We’re managing my pain okay, thanks for asking! I think Mom’s okay with me going, I’m just not quite ready yet. There’s still a couple of things I need Lily to learn first. 🙂

  12. Teddy Says:

    Buddy, Lily and their mom,
    I’m so sorry about Buddy’s diagnosis. Your heart must be breaking.

    Teddy, T-man Angel & their mom

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Lily here: Yes, it’s been hard. I mean, I just met him and got ‘dopted by him and our mom, and now I’m gonna lose him? It’s not fair, but that’s life. Mom’s dealing with it as best as she can– humans seem to take this stuff harder than we do. But I’ll be here to help here when the time comes. I’m not sure what to do but I promised Buddy I’d give it my bestest shot.

  13. Buddy we are very sorry that you have cancer. We will be purring and barking for you. We thinks you are very brave. Lily, we loves your name and we are sure that you will do a fine job helping to take care of Buddy and comforting your Mom. Our friend River sent us by.

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Buddy here: My mom’s the brave one, trying to make me more comfortable by treating me as if there’s nothing wrong so I don’t feel embarrassed when I need a little bit of extra help getting up or walking around. But thank you for saying I’m brave. 🙂

      Lily here: Don’t listen to him– he’s the bravest doggie I know! I like my name too. It’s short for Lily of the Valley ’cause I came from the Lehigh Valley area of Pennsylvania.

  14. Hendrix Says:

    Hi Buddy, River sent me over. I’m sorry to hear about your diagnosis. I hope it is OK that we will send you many purrs and prayers during this difficult time. You are a very brave woofie to keep being so sweet while feeling rough.

    What an amazing woofie you are to be a therapy dog. We admire that a lot.

    • Buddy & Lily Says:

      Mom and Lily and I are all very grateful for all the purrs and prayers being sent our way. Thank you all, two-legged and four-legged alike, for your care and concern. DWB is a wonderful “family” and I’m proud to be a member of it.


Leave a Reply

