Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

Me? A big brother??!!?? March 29, 2009

Filed under: Lily,Mom,my world — Lily @ 6:53 pm

Remember Ava and Leina? The Cocker’s rescued from that awful place in Pennsylvania? Well, Mom’s adopted one of them! This one:

Lily, formerly Leina

Lily, formerly Leina

Mom said she’s sorry but this is the best picture we’ve got of Lily (without any other dog in the picture).  For now.  Mom plans on taking lots of pictures real soon!  I’ll post a better one when she gets me one.

Mom’s renamed her “Lily of the Valley” because the puppy mill she came out of is somewhere in the Lehigh Valley area of PA.

She’s not gonna live with us. Mom’s lease doesn’t allow pets. I’m not a pet– I’m a service dog. But someday, Lily may become a therapy dog like me. That will be fun– we can go to the nursing homes together. 🙂 So she’s gonna live with JVB and the rest of the Cocker’s but Mom’s gonna do all of the training and stuff. Mom is going to pick up a crate tomorrow from JBV that we’ll keep here for when Lily comes to visit and we take a break from training. (We’ve got cheap apartment carpet and Mom’s afraid of messes until we can get Lily outdoor trained.) Mom told the landlord that Lily would be coming and going because we’re helping with the training so if any of the other tenants complain, Mom — and the landlord — can truthfully say that Lily doesn’t live here. Which is fine by me: I like my status as the only dog in the house! BOL

Update: 7/22/09 Mom gave in, talked to the landlord’s agent, and Lily came to live with us full time in mid-April. Mom couldn’t be “the source of all things good” if she couldn’t be there for meal times and treat times and stuff. I’m kinda glad she’s here now– she gives Mom something to think about besides what’s happening to me. 🙂 I know that after I’m gone, Lily’s gonna make a good companion for Mom. And Mom’s promised me she’ll get another BIG dog so Lily has a companion and Mom has someone to help her with her mobility issues. If poor little Lily tried to help Mom get up, Mom would squash her like a bug! 😀

 

4 Responses to “Me? A big brother??!!??”

  1. River Says:

    What a great thing your mom is doing! Lily is such a pretty girl.

    love & wags,
    River

  2. Buddy Says:

    I guess she’s pretty… I just know she’s little and I can’t rough house with her because I might hurt her. Mom says I can play a bit more rough with her when her confidence goes up– Lily’s afraid of just about everything and we need to work on that. She was never allowed to “be a dog” before and there’s so many doggy things she needs to learn– like sniffing and barking and wagging her tail! BOL

  3. Tommy Lee Says:

    Interesting post.


Leave a Reply

