Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

No more vets… until April! January 28, 2009

Filed under: Mom,my world — Lily @ 11:22 am

April’s when all my shots are due.  But until then, I’m free!  No more staples in me, no more being “threatened” with being a “cone head”!!  AND I CAN GO VISITING AGAIN!!  AROOOO!! as my buddy Little Buddy would say!

Mom had a chance to look at the x-rays they took and I’m in better shape than they thought, bone-wise.  What they thought was a slipped disk is not– it’s just got some extra calcification so it doesn’t want to bend or move as easily as the surrounding vertebrae but it’s nothing Mom needs to really keep an eye on.  My hips look great, and there is just a slight film of the beginnings of arthritis in my shoulder but the vet says Metacam as needed should do the trick for quite some time to come.  I’m going to try to NOT need that stuff– it tastes nasty!  BOL

Mom and I are both on diets now.  I’m not allowed to tell you how much weight she needs to lose but I need to lose 12-15 pounds.  I know going back to visiting will help– all that walking’s gotta be good for the both of us– we’ve had a pretty sedentary month this past month!

Thanks to all who sent words of encouragement and thoughts of healing– all were geatly appreciated.  (And if I missed answering any posts/e-mails… sorry…)

 

4 Responses to “No more vets… until April!”

  1. Happy Says:

    Hurray for no more shots! At least till Apr 😉 Happy dieting!

  2. Buddy Says:

    Dieting’s not so bad… if I look pitiful enough I can always wangle another biscuit from Mom!!

  3. Rusty Says:

    Came by to wish you a Happy Valentine’s Day!

    How is the diet going, how are you feeling?

    Barklove,
    Rusty

  4. Buddy Says:

    Thanks, Rusty!

    I’m feeling pretty good… and the diet’s already out the window! BOL The vet said more walking would work better than less treats. Mom and the vet worked out a bit of a compromise: on days when I go visit and get extra treats, Mom will not put as much ‘dog rocks’ in my dinner bowl by a half cup or so. I know I’m being short-changed but I can live with that!

    Hope you have a Happy Valentine’s Day too!


Leave a Reply

