Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

Good-bye, Dr. H; Hello, Dr. B… October 6, 2008

Filed under: friends of mine,Mom,my world — Lily @ 11:54 pm

Mom and I said good-bye to my vet today.  No, no one died.  We just took the final step in taking up JBV’s offer of what will basically be free vet care for me.  Dr. H was very understanding and gave Mom a big hug and me a nice rub.  He’s known for a long time Mom’s got financial woes– he’s even done some stuff for me for free because of it.  He said he’s a good friend of Dr. B’s and if we have to go somewhere, that’s a good place to go.  Mom got a little weepy but hey– she’s gonna miss him.  She first went to him in 1988 when Flop was four weeks old and he’s been her vet ever since.  He had his staff make a complete copy of my file and JBV called Dr. B because Bridget needs some blood work done.  So depending on when he can see us, Mom will either take Bridget in on Thursday or Friday and get the blood work done and let everyone there meet me, or JBV and Mom will take us in on Saturday.  Most of his assistants already know me from being with Mom to either drop off or pick up one or two or all three of JBV’s dogs at various times this past year.  I feel Mom’s made the right choice.  Knowing she won’t have to worry if I need shots or anything– or emergency care– is a great relief– to both of us.  Thank you, JBV– I owe you a big sloppy doggy smooch!