Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

Good-bye, Ann; ya done good!! September 17, 2008

Filed under: my world,therapy dog — Lily @ 11:48 pm

A week after I started my therapy visits to my favorite nursing home, a little over 3 1/2 years ago, Ann came in.  She was pretty much paralyzed from the neck down due to a stroke.  Doctors said she would be lucky if she regained any movement in any of her limbs at all.  Needless to say she was kinda bitter and very mad at the whole world.  She yelled at me and my mom to go away and leave her alone.  We left… but the next week we went back to her room and Mom said “Hi!” and I gave her a big kiss on her hand.  Mom saw a stuffed dog on the table next to her and got her to talk about it for a few minutes– it looked just like her dog, Sunny, and she missed Sunny more than anything.  So from then on, we’d walk in her room and Mom would say “How’s Sunny?” and she’d fuss over the stuffed dog while I’d kiss Ann’s hand.  One day, after we’d been going there a few months, Ann petted me!!  She moved her hand!!  LET THE HEALING BEGIN!!!  Slowly, Ann started to regain movement in her other hand and both arms, then her legs and feet.  She had a relapse for a few months when the real Sunny passed over The Rainbow Bridge but Ann rallied and this Friday, Ann gets to go home!  She’s walking a few steps unassisted but is mostly relying on her wheelchair to get around, but she can get in and out of it by herself, she can dress and feed herself, she can bathe herself, and she can move around in her room with the aide of a walker.  AND SHE GETS TO GO HOME!!  Her husband thought it would never happen but he’s rallied too and made all kinds of improvements and stuff to their home so she can get around in it and be safe in it.  I gave her a card Mom helped me make on the computer today.  She gave me a little angel medallion– I’m going to keep it in the pocket of my therapy vest so I won’t lose it.  😀

 

3 Responses to “Good-bye, Ann; ya done good!!”

  1. Ben Says:

    Thats wonderful news and I’m sure you were a huge part of her recovery process. What a wonderful job you do, your Mom must be so proud of you!

    smoooches,

    Ben xxxxx

  2. G’day Buddy

    You and your Mum do great things. I know you have made another friend and Ann will think of you often.

    Cheers

    Charlie

  3. Desert Pups Says:

    Woof Buddy

    That’s just a pawsome story, it made us get all weepy eyed and everything. We really like happy endings.
    We’ve nominated you for an award so come over and check it out when you get time.

    Desert Pups


Leave a Reply

