Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

Saw 23 kids today! July 15, 2008

Filed under: therapy dog — Lily @ 10:48 pm

Normally there are two therapy dog teams at the children’s hospital, one for each floor. The other team had a medical problem (nothing serious– they’ll be back next week) which meant either one floor didn’t get any visits or I covered that floor as well as my own. Needless to say, I visited every kid on both floors that had permission to have visits. 23 of them! They were all very glad to see me, and most of them pet me. A couple of them were scared and only wanted to look but that’s okay– I never force myself on anyone. If they want to pet me, fine; if not, that’s fine too. But they all wanted one of my trading cards!

The kids are having a blast collecting the cards from all the different dogs. πŸ™‚ These cards were made possible by an anonymous grant, the photos were taken by a professional portrait photographer, and the photographer donated all her proceeds from these pictures* to buy a digital camera and docking station and printer for the PICU so parents could have pictures of their little ones.

*All the proof shots had her copyright across them but for a very nominal fee, we could buy the proofs and can do anything we want with them. Jordan’s mom paid for mine. πŸ™‚ I used it so far in one post here and I had my mom make some bookmarks for the kids at the library. I’ll have mom scan one in so I can post it here too. πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

