Doggy Waif

Lily talks about her fears and her accomplishments as she transistions from a puppy mill survivor to a happy confident dog, as well as the trials and tribulations of having a Great Dane for a big brother. Thanks for stopping by!

A new (to me) place to visit. July 5, 2008

Filed under: friends of mine,therapy dog — Lily @ 1:57 pm

Mom and I went with JBV and Jordan to a residential facility for kids with severe handicaps. A great bunch of kids! They couldn’t communicate very well but you could see in their eyes how excited they were to see all of us dogs and to pet us and “walk” us. (The dog handlers would let the child hold a section of the leash while the handler pushed the wheelchair around the room– the kids thought that was loads of fun!) I hate to say it but I was kind of over-whelmed and asked my mom if we could leave a bit early. I’m very good with kids like this at the children’s hospital, where I’m one-on-one with them. Today there were about 20 kids and 7 or 8 dogs and it was too noisy for me. Maybe if I go back and do short visits I can better cope with the noise and confusion. We’ll see. 🙂

This is Jordan, one of three Cocker Spaniels who own JBV.

That’s a handball ball in his mouth. Jordan carries one of those around with him ALL THE TIME. His mom says it’s his doggy pacifier! Jordan’s two sisters are Bridget and Gem and I’ll tell you about them another time.

 

Leave a Reply

